Gaelic Athletic Association of WA
2017 Australasian Championships

The 2017 Edition of the Australasian GAA Championships took place from October 5th to 8th at Tom Bateman Reserve in Thornlie. Western Australia, New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland all sent teams to compete in the Minor, Men’s & Ladies Football and Hurling competitions. GAAWA was also delighted to have Uachtaran Cuman Luachleas Gael Aogan O’Fearghail in attendance at the championships. After 2 days of competitive action the Minor Final was contested by Victoria and WA Black on Saturday 7th October with Victoria taking the title home on a score line of 5:07 to 0:07. WA Gold also took part in the Minor competition. A reception was held for the Victoria Minors under their management team led by Brian Stynes after the Minor Final by the Western Australia Minor Bland & Gold Teams under their joint management led by Ciaran Gallagher. The Men’s Football decider was the first game on Sunday 8th October and it saw Western Australia take on New South Wales. This final was interesting as WA and NSW had already played each other which ended in a draw earlier in the competition. Victoria had been knocked out in the semi-final by New South Wales. After a great game of football New South Wales triumphed on a score-line of 1:12 to 0:14. The Ladies Final was the second game of the day to take place and it saw Victoria, who had beaten Queensland in the semi-final, battle Western Australia for Championship honours and what a battle it turned out to be. Level at full-time, level after extra time and level after extra extra time, the game came down to a sudden death score with both teams out on their feet for the final throw in. Unfortunately for Western Australia, Victoria would get the all-important final score which saw them triumph on a final score line of Western Australia 4:12 Victoria 3:16. The over run in the Ladies final meant the Hurling Championship Final was delayed and this final saw Western Australia take on New South Wales who had defeated Victoria in the Semi-Final. This turned out to be another hum dinger of a final and the teams were neck and neck for most of the game. By the late stages WA started to pull away and they ran out worthy winners on a final score of Western Australia 1:21 New South Wales 1:16. Eoin Guinan the captain of the WA Hurlers accepted the trophy from His Excellency the President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins and President of the GAA, Aogan O’Fearghail. The championships finished up with a Gala Ball held at Crown Towers on the night of the 8th October. Huge thanks to all the teams who represented Western Australia, their managements and sponsors. Particular thanks is extended to everybody who helped out in any way to make the “State Games” such a successful event in Perth. A massive thankyou to everybody who came down to Tom Bateman Reserve over the 4 days of the Championships to cheer on Western Australia, it is much appreciated!